Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature's peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn. ~ John Muir

The Beginnings of My Love for Photography ♥

Before I begin, I will share a couple of images I’ve shot over the last couple of weeks here in Central Wisconsin along the Wisconsin River – please enjoy!

Gosh, I love seeing what our extraordinary planet Earth brings us into our lives – and the environement we live with and see with our eyes, hear with our ears, and feel with our hearts.  Nature.  Mountains.  Lush greenery, and even snow. :) I’m always wondering where I may shoot next – whether its right along the Wisconsin River, out by Marsh Road overlooking cranberry marshes/river, or simply in my parents backyard looking for visiting birds and the family’s 2 precious Golden Retreivers – Sage and Micah.  Always a joy to capture their goofy quirks to simply resting in the sun on the driveway with their tennis balls nearby.  There is never limited areas to shoot – you just need to find them, and simply let nature and light create itself through your thoughts and vision, and with snap of the camera .. you got it!  My love of photography has always been with me since I picked up my first camera in 10th grade – egads, thats a LONG time ago – I feel so old now. :) 

Over the years I’ve learned various styles of photography to unlimited ways of shooting different images. It never ends, and I love that so much about this particular form of art – brings on challenges I can face with an open mind, and simply Go BIG, or just go home. I recently had a lengthly conversation with David on quotes relating to photography and what inspires us to capture what we shoot, and how we can represent that so that those who view our images can be inspired as well. Alas, one of my favorite photographers is Ansel Adams.  

David shared with me that the best Ansel Adam’s quote is … “If you can’t make it good, make it big.” VERY TRUE!
I then added on to that to say: “If you can make it big … make it inspirational for those that can’t make it good.
Then David decided to come back with another good one: “But if you can make it inspirational, it is good, and then there is no need for it to be big.”

I swear we should make a picture book on quotes and images – it never ends, and I LOVE that. :)

I hope my passion for photography continues to grow into something I am able to pass on to those who need a dose of smiles, light, and inspiration in their lives and hearts. I strive to continue to make my own footprints on this path of life – walking in the beauty of nature, respecting what she shares with us – yet respectfully leave my footprints on the trail for those who wish to follow me and enjoy what we see together.

I leave with many special thanks to my wonderful parents, my sister, Allison for all you have given and continue to give me in my miraculous life – and my journey just has begun to unfold into new adventures and happiness. Special thanks goes out to David for being there for me, helping me open my eyes and heart to a new level I never expereinced before with someone as special as he is to me.  When I arrive in Alaska in a mere 6 weeks – I’ll be more than grateful to share that moment with David by my side, and the mountains surrounding us. Is it April 30th yet? :)

Always remember to keep smiling, for it will be the best result in someone else’s day.

Leave a comment