Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature's peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn. ~ John Muir

Simply This… Dog’s Rule!

I am a Dog Lover 100% x infinity .. all the way!  Don’t get me wrong, I love all creatures on this magnificent Earth (except Spiders, Snakes, and eeh slugs, odd looking bugs, and anything that scares the crap out of me!) …

I’ve grown up with many dogs in my lifetime, and will die with a companion or two by my side .. it’s the way it is, and it shall be that way. My very first puppy was a buff colored Cocker Spaniel – my parents named her Muffin.   Alas over time things didn’t work with her, as they had to give her to the breeder as she was not nice to me. :(

Dad, Mom and I with our first puppy - Muffin

More than any other animal, dogs are capable of dedicated and devoted service. Their intelligence allows them to learn commands, their pack nature instills obedience and loyalty and their domesticated background is what makes them so protective of man and woman – their best friend.

On a regular basis, we hear the news about a dog saving someone’s life, whether it’s pulling a child out from broken ice, running to find help for an injured master or staving off an attack from intruders. Dogs instinctively protect their territory and their loved ones.

They never talk about themselves but listen to you while you talk about yourself,  keep up an appearance of being interested in the conversation and at same time give you the feeling of being loved, and the warmth of their sweet eyes.

Micah and his Yellow Fire Hydrant - he's had this since he was a puppy, and it's his favorite "security" toy.

This next part was taken from an email I recieved from a dear friend a long time ago – and the very truth in this is simply that … true to the heart.

“He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his companion. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart.”

From time to time, people tell me, “lighten up, it’s just a dog,” or, “that’s a lot of money for just a dog.” They don’t understand. Some of my proudest moments have come about with “just a dog.”

Many hours have passed and my only company was “just a dog,” but I did not once feel slighted. Some of my saddest moments have been brought about by “just a dog,” and in those days of darkness, the gentle touch of “just a dog” gave me comfort and reason to overcome the day.

If you, too, think it’s “just a dog,” then you will probably understand phases like “just a friend,” “just a sunrise,” or “just a promise.”

A dog brings into my life the very essence of friendship, trust, and pure unbridled joy. a dog brings out the compassion and patience that make me a better person. Because of “just a dog” I will rise early, take long walks and look longingly to the future. So for me and folks like me, it’s not “just a dog” but an embodiment of all the hopes and dreams of the future, the fond memories of the past, and the pure joy of the moment. A dog brings out what’s good in me and diverts my thoughts away from myself and the worries of the day.

I hope that someday they can understand that it’s not “just a dog” but the thing that gives me humanity and keeps me from being “just a man/woman.” So the next time you hear the phrase “just a dog”, just smile, because they “just don’t understand.”

Sage napping on the driveway - with the wind flopped ear!

We all have our own special ways of communicating with our pets, regardless of what kind of pet you have – bottom line is they all sense your feelings, they feel your sadness and even your happiness. They embed their companionship and unconditional love to you for their lifetime.  They listen to you … care for you … hold their paw out for you … wake you up as an alarm clock … and simply be your footrest after a long day at work. Whatever the case may be, they are always there for you at any given moment and they CHOSE to be there for you. :) 

A special Happy Easter wish goes to all of my friends and dear family – you are all blessed in my life more ways than I can think of, and that alone rejuvenates my heart and soul knowing that my life is on a path to better adventures, challenges, love, family and importantly the happiness flows through my heart and I am able to feel that again after many years of heart ache and hard times in my lifetime – Life Is Indeed Good! So I thank you all for being there for me… Happy Easter!! Annd, now go eat some scrumptious food! :)

Until next time…
Keep smiling … I know I am! :)

Note to David – Tuttugu og sex dögum!  :D

2 responses

  1. I always liked the Icelandic language – it just flows off the tongue. NOT :D

    April 4, 2010 at 11:22 AM

  2. taylorsoutback

    Micah & Sage look like such lovable pups.
    It is a proven fact that a person’s blood pressure decreases when petting a dog – they are the ultimate companions and our lives would be so empty without them

    Oh yes – Dogs Rule!

    April 5, 2010 at 8:12 AM

Leave a Reply

