Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature's peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn. ~ John Muir

First Journal Post on my Epic Adventure back to Alaska ~

Good evening everyone, from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada!

I apologize it has been a few days of driving, and I now have the chance to post my first blog on my journal site. I’m happy to have this time to do just this! The last 3 days have been long, tiring, but most of all – adventurous, enjoyable, and many wonderful memories to be cherished. I’m with David’s parents, and dear friend Anne, as we all caravan together to Alaska. We are taking our leisurely time, really!! I don’t think I’ve encountered such a relaxing drive(s) yet we all are in it together.

My last weekend in Wisconsin was one of the best and hardest weekends ever. I spent it ALL with my loving parents, family, and friends .. even the pooches Micah and Sage. It was hard leaving home, knowing it’s a life I’ve lived for years – but I know my heart is on the path to a new, and adventurous life I look forward to very much, and to be with David and continue our journey together. We have a lot of ideas, places and things we want to do already. My family and home in Wisconsin will never leave me – that’s a fact.  I also know my family is always HOME for me. :) My Aunt Mary, Uncle Roger, and cousin Molly came down to visit me on Saturday along with my best friend Erin, and her boyfriend Kevin! Great times that day! Had several good bouts of laughter and tears (happy ones too!) .. Sunday was the day I knew it was my time to leave home – and the house I’ve known for years in my life. I was feeling mixed, from anxious, contentment, excited, sad, tears and smiles.  See, a mix!  My Aunt Jenny, Uncle John provided me with a feast for dinner at their home in Wausau. My mom, Uncle Jay, and dear family friend Heather came with me on the “first” leg of my journey. I was SO happy to share my stories, laughter, and the scrumptious food! Then it came time to leave for the Taylor’s in Gleason, where we would initially start our epic adventure on the next Monday morning.

I do not have any images to post as of yet, I promise to have some soon once we get to the more picturesque areas and eventually into Alaska. I may even take some this evening of the pooches (Molly, Kelsie, and Sasha) … Taylors 3 adorable Shelties! Something sweet, and happy.  Right  now we are in the midst of making din din, Tagliatelle Contadina (known as Dave’s Spicy Pasta) dish! LOVE this. Tomorrow we embark on to Edmonton, Alberta – then slowly work our way up to Alaska from that point.  I do look forward to getting my picture taken in front of “Welcome To Alaska” sign!

I know this is short and sweet, but I had promised everyone I would at least post when I have the chance. Going forward I hope to add images, and more short stories along our way. I love you all so very much, and you are thought of by the minute! Din din time soon!!

Be back later!

2 responses

  1. jackvjohnson

    Huge congrats on the start of a wonderful journey, Jena! I look forward to reading all about it!

    – Jack

    August 18, 2010 at 7:39 PM

  2. Holly P

    You go, girl! I mean now you REALLY go! Have a great adventure. I’m following your chronicles!

    September 9, 2010 at 7:51 PM

Leave a Reply

