Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature's peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn. ~ John Muir

The Alaska Highway ~ An Epic Adventure Part One

As many of you know, I made a life-changing decision this year, a change that I felt in my heart when I was in Alaska for the first time back in May earlier this year.  The decision made was to make Alaska my new home. A home where I feel naturally content, blessed, and happy with my heart, and my inner-self as well. Wisconsin Rapids, will be my home forever, a home I know I can go back at any given time my heart desires to. My family, friends and the pooches (Sage and Micah) are all at home for me. The unconditional love I receive from them is never-ending, their support is more than I ever imagined, and their happiness is what makes my life more grateful. I’ve accomplished a lot in my life, from being born a premature baby, surviving with hearing impairment, hardships, and importantly the many wonderful, and memorable times as well. My decision to move to Alaska was based on who I want to be as a person within my hearts content, my love of photography, nature, and conservation of Alaska’s lush history of mountains, rivers, glaciers, cultures, and distinctive climatic weather. That’s not all. Spending time with David in those 3 weeks, made me realize who I was missing in my life. We both have high-respect for each other with who we are together as a couple, what we love to do in Alaska, and even our own values and morals in our lives. David has brought me much joy and love in my life, I am blessed to have him be there for me on all avenues into our future.

Kelsie "Sweet Blue" is the baby of the three!

We have many goals, adventures, and photo opportunities to achieve, yet we will do them one day at a time. Makes it more fun! Before I get into details regarding my drive up to Alaska, I will say this: “If you want to achieve something epic in your lifetime…Drive to Alaska.” If I can do it, I know you can as well. With this being said, I say it’s time to share my journey back “Up North” to home.  Enjoy with a hot cup of coffee, tea, or even a cold beverage – whichever suits you! Just know that you’ll be smiling by the end of my journal post. I promise.

August 16th~August 20th:  Monday, August 16th was the beginning of an epic adventure I been planning/waiting for. I had spent the evening before at David’s parents home in Gleason, WI. They are such wonderful and special friends in my life, and I could not be any happier to have given the chance to join them on their trek up to Alaska, to visit their son, David. Not to mention, they had brought along their 3 adorable Shelties too. Kelsie (Sweet Blue), Molly (Munchkin), and Sasha (Sweet Girl)! I have nicknamed them over our journey “Up North” and they don’t mind! :)

Sasha "Sweet Girl" is the oldest of the three.

We also had another special friend come along on our journey, and she is very adventurous, sweet, and full-of-life! Annie is very dear friends with the Taylors, as she had recently just purchased a new motor home. Her quest was to visit Alaska, of course! Here we all are ready for this to begin – bright and early on this morning. We departed at 8 A.M., bright and early! And I was feeling anxious, a little nervous, full of happiness, and ready to head up to my new home.  The first day we drove to Bemidji, Minnesota…our campground was very nice, and along the way we made several stops to enjoy the views and scenery along the way.

Molly "Munchkin" is the middle girl!

I didn’t take any photos, as I was trying to get “used” to driving long periods, and wanted to focus my time on just that! I will say, it took me a long while to get used to the driving part, but I never had a dull moment in doing so. We continued to head through Minot, ND, and then across the border into Saskatchewan. We stayed in Saskatoon for an evening, and eventually made our way through Lloydminster, AB to Whitecourt, BC, then to the famous Mile 0 in Dawson Creek, BC. This is where the Alaska Highway starts, and will continue for some 1800 miles into eastern Alaska.  Driving by the Mile 0 starting point, made me emotional and will never forget crossing the starting point, I knew I was close to being home.  As we made our way up the Alaska Highway, I began to capture the most beautiful scenery, lush lands, mountains, and even glacier-born lakes with its turquoise blue waters. More images and stories to follow soon. Thank you for your patience, and I love you all so much!

Here is a quote to end this post:

To the lover of wilderness, Alaska is one of the most wonderful countries in the world. John Muir

This is where it all starts - The famous Alaska Highway marker in Dawson Creek, BC.

3 responses

  1. Ryan

    Very Cool. Welcome Home.

    September 15, 2010 at 11:03 AM

  2. taylorsoutback

    Jena – have been meaning to add my comment – love the photos of our girls! And we can’t say it often enough – you are a joy to be with and leaving you and Dave was hard but seeing you both together will be an image to carry forever.

    September 19, 2010 at 9:09 AM

  3. Julie Jaap

    Jen,

    I loved your post. I was traveling with you. All of us from Promo Events are keeping good thoughts and wishing you the most wonderful and happy life. Keep in touch keep us posted.

    Julie

    September 20, 2010 at 7:56 AM

Leave a Reply

